Celebrating and supporting innovative programs that help the medically underserved.

The annual Monroe E. Trout Premier Cares Award honors, recognizes and supports not-for-profit community agencies, programs and health organizations across the U.S. that are improving the health of underserved populations with innovative, replicable healthcare solutions.

Past winners include:

Application portal is now closed


  • The program must be a stand-alone entity which operates independently from a hospital or healthcare system.
  • The program must be a not-for-profit entity, in either the public or private sector.
  • The program must be able to show results covering a full one-year span prior to January 2020.
  • The program must be replicable. 
  • The program’s future vision must be articulated.
  • Each section of the application must be completed in its entirety. Incomplete applications will be disqualified.
  • The program must be affiliated with a Premier member organization in some way.
  • The Cares Award operations team will inspect each application to assure that criteria is met and that all sections are complete.
  • Using the stated criteria as a guide, a multi-disciplinary Premier staff panel will review and score all applications and will select the top five entries.
  • An external panel of healthcare industry leaders will review and score the top five entries. Of those, the entry with the highest score will be deemed the winner.
  • Applications will be scored on the following:
    • Clear statement of unmet need
    • Innovation/creativity
    • Outcomes/results
    • Future vision
    • Ease of replicability
    • Financial impact
  • Once you submit your application, you will receive a confirmation that it has been received. If you do not receive a confirmation within 24 hours of submission, please drop a note to
  • You will be notified of application status no later than late February 2020.
  • Previous Cares Award Winners ($100,000) are not eligible to apply for the Cares Award for the next five years after winning. Example: The 2019 Cares Award winner will be eligible to reapply the sixth program year after the award, which would be in 2025.
  • Two representatives of your program will be invited, as Premier’s guests, to attend the 2020 Cares Award Ceremony on June 24, 2020, at our annual Breakthroughs Conference and Exhibition in Nashville, Tennessee. The winner will be recognized at the ceremony.
  • “Premier guest status” entitles each program representative to round trip coach airfare (using Premier’s travel agent), ground transportation to/from each airport and one night of lodging at the Gaylord Opryland Hotel and Convention Center in Nashville, Tennessee.
  • Premier will work with you to craft media announcements about your award – some for Premier to administer and others for you and your organization to utilize at your own discretion.
  • Premier will create a brief (2-3 minute) video highlighting your program which will be presented during the awards ceremony on June 24, as well as provided to you for your own use. Shortly after the winner is notified, Premier will begin the video planning via conference call with your team and our production team. First order of business will be to set a date for Premier’s production team to conduct a 2-3 day visit to your facility. During the visit, the production team will work with you and your team to conduct and film interviews with select members of your program staff and clients (if appropriate) and to shoot background video.
  • The program leader will be invited to participate on the external judging panel for the following year’s award.

Before you enter your application into the electronic system, feel free to use this worksheet to help you plan and draft your content. It includes all of the application items required to submit. Good luck!

If you need assistance, please contact Premier’s Solution Center at 877.777.1552.